The Holy month of Ramadan and it’s significance

Posted on Updated on

Ramadan Prayer Timings

Five Pillars of Islam

There are five formal acts of worship which help strengthen a Muslim’s faith and obedience, which are call the “Five Pillars of Islam.” They are, testimony of faith (Shahada), prayer (salah), fasting (sawm), almsgiving (zakat) and pilgrimage (Haj). Testimony of faith is to delcare there is no god but Allah, and Mohammad is the messenger of Allah. Prayer, as a Muslim prays five times a day. Fasting is one month of daytime fasting every year. Almsgiving is when Muslims give a small percentage of their annual savings as charity. Pilgrimage is when worshippers make their way to Makkah.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s